Membership of the Advisory Group on Reform of Australian Government Administration

On 3 September 2009 the Prime Minister announced that an Advisory Group would be established to develop a blueprint for Reform of Australian Government Administration.

The Prime Minister announced at that time that I would Chair the Advisory Group.  Today I am pleased to announce the following further members will be added to the Advisory Group:

  • Mr Chris Blake, EGM Business Strategy and People, National Australia Bank
  • Professor Glyn Davis AC, Vice Chancellor and President of the University of Melbourne
  • Ms Jo Evans, Assistant Secretary, Department of Climate Change
  • Dr Ken Henry AC, Secretary to the Treasury
  • Ms Robyn Kruk AM, Secretary of the Department of the Environment, Water, Heritage and the Arts
  • Ms Carmel McGregor, Acting Australian Public Service Commissioner
  • Ms Ann Sherry AO, Chief Executive, Carnival Australia
  • Mr Nick Warner PSM, Director-General, Australian Secret Intelligence Service
  • Professor Patrick Weller AO, Professor of Politics and Public Policy, Griffith University

A short biography of each of the members is available. 

The Advisory Group will develop a reform blueprint by early 2010. The blueprint will be informed and strengthened by the significant experience brought to bear by the members announced today.

The Advisory Group will be informed by the outcomes of a public consultation process to be conducted between now and the end of the year and an international benchmarking study comparing the performance of Australian Government Administration with its overseas counterparts.  The Group is also supported by a dedicated project team within this department. 

A discussion paper will be released by the end of this month at Submissions will be invited in response to the discussion paper and the public will be able to participate in a number of online discussion forums to inform the blueprint.
Further enquiries can be directed to Russell Egan (02 6271 5437) in the first instance.

Terry Moran

16 September 2009

Last Updated: 7 July 2010